Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Retail Worker Giveaway!





Hey retail workers this giveaway is for you! I have been working retail for so long I’ve made two books about it. One stars Scarlet Summers undercover at Fiona’s Corner and Cafe thanks to being in debt to werewolves, and the other is Angeline’s tales at Kyle’s General Store. I’ve met some downright nasty customers working retail working in two different retail stores, and I have a ton of stories to tell thanks to it. One woman said that she will go somewhere else since I didn’t know what I was doing I was only working there for two days…I still see her. The other lady was rude since I didn’t get the hang of the many ways to do a return and said I shouldn’t be working there if I didn’t know how to do my job. Another lady was mad we didn’t have hanging bags and complained I was giving her a crumpled one when she could have asked for a new one. At my part time job one of the nasty customers explained to me what a debit card was when I put her return on the card like I was trained instead of giving her cash. She never told me she wanted cash and she said she will go to the manager about it, and that she expects it in cash next time! Yes, and I’m sure we have all been there. I’m giving back to you people who have worked in retail, or have worked in retail. This even applies to fast food and restaurants. 


The prize? Copies of my paperbacks Being a Vampire in Retail Sucks and Tales From Behind the Counter. And the audio and ebook versions to go with it! As well as a $10.00 Amazon gift card. A few runner ups can receive the audio and ebook copies. 

All you need to do is tell me your horrible, rude, angry customer story, and share the giveaway for extra entries!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/f984a44e1/?

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Work in Progress Updates!


I have finished AngelWitch and Scarlet book 1 and they are with the beta readers, and that means getting an outline together to work on book 1. I have also planned on doing a giveaway soon after I revamp a few of my ebook covers. Once that is done I'll be doing a giveaway to get more attention, and give away paperbacks, ebooks and audiobooks. I'm working full-time in retail, and have to say it's not too bad either. I'm also using days off to write more, and I plan on releasing more as I get used to producing and editing more. I'm still waiting to hear back from CBS 6 for a journalism job, and I hope to either do that or write books. I even found an awesome screen recording app for my mac. And my iPad has a screen recording thing as well as my phone. Now that school is out all I do is work and that means time not in work is going to writing and Youtube.

I will have more as time goes on, and I'll post when the new covers are up!

Thanks for reading,

Jess

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Bloodlines by C. L Cannon Cover Reveal!

Blurb:
Bloodlines follows fraternal twins Anso and Ava at the very start of magic itself.
When Anso discovers there’s something different about him, something inhuman, he knows he must keep it a secret. His father, his entire village would disown him, or worse. There’s one person, however, who he cannot hide from, his twin sister, Ava. Ava sees right through Anso’s distress and promises to keep his secret while yearning for a power of her very own. 
As Anso explores his newfound abilities, he also finds a friend with a similar problem. Could there be more like him?

This is the story of how an ordinary boy became a legend, a leader, the sister who stood by him through it all, and the best friend who taught him to embrace his differences. 
Fans of X-Men, Harry Potter, and The Mortal Instruments will enjoy this series starter.

Buying info:

You can pre-order Bloodlines for just .99!

About C.L. Cannon



C.L. Cannon is a wife, mother, book nerd, publisher, author, designer, editor, and just about any other thing with an -er sound at the end! She loves music, and frequently sings in the car, much to the dismay of the other cars surrounding her! Her favorite thing to write about is the relationship between friends, both romantically and platonically. She’s also a huge anglophile! She enjoys networking with other authors and making new friends! 
You can find C.L. Cannon at the following links:

I hope you have enjoyed this post until next time,
Wolfdreamer25

Saturday, April 28, 2018

My Patreon Page is Live!


I started up a Patreon page since it would be good to have one to support my writing. I’m still working on the edits for AngelWitch and it’s not too bad. I’m trying to do all this in between a fulltime job, and even editing and uploading more gameplay videos. I wanted to use Patreon to give people extra stories and content not found anywhere else. I hope it can take off so I can write more. It’s kind of like kick starter except people pledge money monthly to get rewards and content.

Here are the reward tiers:
Thanks for the Support! Thanks for supporting me and in turn you can have one free book of your choice. Also updates and even access to exclusive content. $1.00 per month
Definitely thanks! $5 or more per month Thanks for supporting me and in turn you can have 2 free books of your choice. Also updates and even access to exclusive content now found anywhere else, and even stories I will be publishing, I can even answer questions and let you know about excerpts of my books. Also post blog posts and updates on my days off.

Special Patron Ever Thanks for supporting me and in turn you can have 4 books of your choice. Also updates and even access to exclusive content now found anywhere else, and even stories I will be publishing, I can even answer questions and let you know about excerpts of my books. Also post blog posts and updates on my days off, and even suggestions on what to write next. Even I will write about the characters back story too.
Here is the link for it:


And I hope to produce content like extra stories, and even a novella you can’t get anywhere else. It’s one of the things to help me on my writing journey so I can afford cover art and editing.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

Jessica Samuels

Thursday, April 5, 2018

Resumes in the Job Search!


One of the first things you need to do in the job search is creating a resume. It’s used to put all your information for employers in one spot. All job applications require one, and they are easy for the employers to see if you are a good fit for the position. It helps them see your job history, and if you have had a stable job and dependable. It’s also required for a lot of professional jobs like office jobs, and even retail jobs. They are essential for the job search, and necessary. However, it can be time-consuming putting it together luckily there are a ton of free resume templates you can use. A lot of word processing software have resume templates built right in, and all you have to do is fill in the blanks.
Creating a resume is easy! First, choose a template you like in microsoft word. You can even make it a fancy one if you want. I did at one point create mine with a red frame and it was easy since it was broken into sections.The name goes at the top, followed by email, phone number, and address.
The first thing to fill out is your work information. Title, store and address and the dates you worked followed by the description. Don’t forget to have a consistent font and theme. Bold the job title and make everything else normal.Put the most recent job first then go down the list.  Then comes the education part to put your degree in bold followed by the school, and the location. Then underneath that is the dates you attended.
Then comes the skills. Some job applications even let you put in the skills and how much experience you have with them. You can even put links to your social media profiles, and website links. My class had us create a portfolio of all the work we published. And even depending what it is some of the journalism ones have you create a website. I had to anyway since I’m writing books, and I wanted all the links to them in one place. There is even a spot for publications too. And you can even include your awards and certifications too. After the resume is done and polished then you are ready to search for jobs. It can be hard to wait after you have sent an application in, and it doesn’t hurt to check in either. I hope you have found this article helpful and good luck on your resume! I hope you find the job of your dreams.

How to Ace That Job Interview! And Job interview tips!


Job searching is something everyone does period since you need a job to make money. And since I’ve been out of school that is what I’ve been doing. I was lucky with my first job since it was given to me after I shadowed a lab for girl scouts, and I worked there for two years until I got laid off for lack of grant funds. It was hard since I was unemployed for 6 months. And then I got lucky after filling out job apps and got the first job that I’ve had for 6 years while I was in school. Recently, I’ve had to look for something better since I’ve been out of school since December. I’ve had to send in job application after job application.And got some interview out of it, and they both have led to me landing the job. One of them I didn’t like the hours, and the other I took since it’s full time. Job interviews are easy too since they are pretty much talking about yourself, and your recent experiences. It’s easy to answer the questions, and yes it can be nerve-wracking. But getting a call back is easier than filling out applications and waiting for the interviews.
Here are my top ten tips:
  1. Dress nicely this is an interview after all.
  2. Think about the questions they ask and answer honestly.
  3. Be friendly since they are the ones who picked you for it.
  4. Be confident.
  5. Make sure to come prepared with questions.
  6. Ask about the hours, pay and benefits.
  7. Take the job if they offer you a good pay rate and good hours.
  8. Don’t take less than you deserve.
  9. Be positive.
  10. Show them you can do the job!
These tips will definitely help you succeed in your interview, and good luck!

I hope you enjoyed the post, and in the meantime, I’m working on AngelWitch edits. Also, I’ve been doing research on book promotion since it’s a step you have to take after you publish the book.

Friday, March 23, 2018

My Novel Editing Process for AngelWitch!





Time to edit AngelWitch now that the rough draft is done, and more videos and posts are coming!

Thursday, March 22, 2018

The Secret Dairy of a Checkout Girl Review

The Secret Diary of a Checkout Girl by Samantha Rose is a good book. I loved it since it totally captures the struggle of working at a supermarket. It's realistic too, and I can sympathize with the main character since I've recently graduated and have to look for something more. It totally captures the struggle of being in a dead-end job and wanting something more. You will totally see it's realistic especially if you have ever worked retail before. I love the twists and turns it takes. You should totally get this book!

Retail Worker Giveaway!

Hey retail workers this giveaway is for you! I have been working retail for so long I’ve made two books about it. One stars Scarle...